Home Videos Photos Shop
PerezHilton CocoPerez Caitlyn Jenner Blake Lively Kim K. Teen Mom PerezTV

American Runner Meb Keflezighi Wins The Boston Marathon! First American To Do It Since 1983!

| Filed under: ZportzInspirationRunning

american meb keflezighi wins boston marathon

SO much history is being made!

After the Boston Marathon ended in tragedy last year, this year has been surrounded by nothing but positivity and a will to show the world how strong that city really is!

To start things off, there was a moment of silence, and America the Beautiful was played. Then 36,000 runners — the second largest amount EVER — were on their way!

And the winner made history! American runner, and San Diego native, Meb Keflezighi won the whole kit and caboodle, becoming the first from the country to do so since Greg A. Meyer in 1983! His time was 2:08:37, making it the second fastest by an American man as well.


Rita Jeptoo won the Elite Women’s division, while Ernst Van Dyk and Tatyana McFadden took the Men’s and Women’s Wheelchair division.

We are so proud of everyone involved with this event, whether you were running, volunteering, or just cheering people on!

[Image via AP Images.]

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The Best Celebrity Organizing Tips For Your Spring Cleaning!
All The Books Emma Watson Has Recommended!
Chrissy Metz's Journey To Fame!
Athletes Who've Skipped Visiting The White House
How Celebs Enjoyed Super Bowl LI!
All The Best Commercials From Super Bowl LI!!

4 comments to “American Runner Meb Keflezighi Wins The Boston Marathon! First American To Do It Since 1983!”

  1. nfff says – reply to this


    He was born in Africa and spent the first 10 year or so there.

  2. Nicole says – reply to this


    Many media outlets are saying it's 1985. I think you have the wrong year.

  3. 3

    He is not a San Diego native - he is native to Eritrea.

  4. @v@ says – reply to this


    He's Eritrean-born, and came over as a refugee at around age 12.
    It's a testament to his long training, desire & ability to win the marathon at 38 years old.